Physical Address

BOX 5, Westhoven, 2142


Toyota South Motors (TSAM) has for the first time, since 2019, held its first physical Dealer of the Year (DOTY) awards where outstanding Hino, Lexus and Toyota dealers were celebrated. The event took place at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg on Friday, 4 March 2022. 

Senior Vice President of Sales and Marketing at TSAM, Leon Theron, conferred the coveted trophies to the following:

Hino Dealer of the Year: Gansen Chetty of Hino Shelley Beach 

The Dealer Principal of this dealership continuously motivate his team. He embraces the Hino Total Support philosophy in every aspect. The team at the dealership is always willing to go the extra mile to ensure total customer satisfaction.

Lexus Dealer of the Year: Christopher Jones of Lexus Fourways

A performance like this requires visionary leadership and a passionate, dedicated team – aspects that are firmly entrenched in this dealer’s DNA. It is an absolute pleasure to reward this outstanding performance and give this team the recognition they so rightfully deserve.

Toyota Dealer of the Year: Dirk van Rooy of Halfway Toyota Honeydew

The performance of this dealership is proof that strong leadership and the right people make all the difference. The dealer principal has always been intentional about growing and developing his staff. He also allows his management team to lead their own departments, resulting in a very innovative and highly motivated team.

Awarded annually, the Toyota dealer awards are based on a comprehensive set of metrics on which each Toyota/Lexus/Hino dealer is measured throughout the preceding year. These measurements include customer service, environmental protection, financial performance and vehicle sales.

Theron said while the evening was about celebrating TSAM’s dealers, the company was “proud to have been operating in South Africa for more than 60 years and manufacturing vehicles at the Prospecton Plant in Durban for 50 years, while we have also been retailing Hino trucks and buses in the country for the same period.”

Also recognised at the event was Glyn Hall, Team Principal of Toyota Gazoo Racing SA, for his pivotal role in the success of Hilux in the Dakar. This year saw four cars entering the 2022 Dakar Rally, including Nasser Al-Attiyah and navigator Mathieu Baumel; Giniel de Villiers and navigator Dennis Murphy; Henk Lategan and navigator Brett Cummings; and Shameer Variawa and navigator Danie Stassen. The 2022 Dakar Rally was, in the end, won by Al-Attiyah and Baumel, and all the cars made it to the finish line safely.

On presenting the award the award to Hall, TSAM’s Vice President of Marketing Glenn Crompton said: “What started off as a crazy idea 11 years ago, has evolved into a cornerstone of Toyota South Africa’s marketing. Not only are the words Hilux and Dakar deeply entrenched in the hearts of South Africans, but it also represents a momentous achievement – for both Toyota and South Africa.”

TSAM’s President and CEO Andrew Kirby, together with Theron, also presented the President’s Award to Lichtenburg Toyota (Small dealer category), Thekwini Toyota Westville (Medium dealer category), Halfway Toyota Scottburgh (Large dealer category) and Halfway Toyota Fourways (Mega dealer category).